Linking different MS Access tables together to show a text on the label based on product number.

Issues related to label design (working with databases, data processing, RFID encoding etc.) and printing (from NiceLabel Express, NiceLabel Pro, NiceForm and NicePrint)

Moderators: Georges, milos, NiceLabel Support Team

mmp
Newcomer

Linking different MS Access tables together to show a text on the label based on product number.

Post by mmp » Thu Apr 23, 2020 11:40 am

Dear Nice Label forum,

I am a total rookie in working with labels and the program NiceLabel Designer 2019. So need a little help 😊

I have connected a MS Access database with multiple tables. My problem is to connected information from one table in Access to another.

In one of the tables is information about the product including different product numbers. When a product number is available for a given product should NiceLabel pull information from another table to display the matching text on the label.

Example from attached photo. In screenshot A is shown table 1 from the database. The information is product name and two columns with product codes (arrow Green and Black). These product codes should then be linked to table 2 (screenshot B) and search for a match in the product code column (Red arrow). On the label should be displayed the text from the column “Shown text 2” (Blue Arrow).

How to link these together within Nice Label designer?

And btw Table 1 is continues being updated whereas table 2 is static. This is the reason for having the information in two tables.

/Best
Magnus
Attachments
illustration til hjælp af database link.png
illustration til hjælp af database link.png (180.4 KiB) Viewed 743 times

highfrost
Valued Contributor

Re: Linking different MS Access tables together to show a text on the label based on product number.

Post by highfrost » Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:45 pm

Hi magnus,

The main problem you have is that you don't have exact keys for you tables to easily link them.