Page 1 of 1

allow hidden characters?

Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:01 pm
by coordinator
we need to include in the barcode but not display hidden characters - ex. human readable will be 1234 but the barcode should have P1234 - is this possible? If so, how?

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:37 am
by jurk
This is not possible directly, but you can try the following:

1. Create a variable A
2. Link this variable to barcode object and set human interpretation to not display
3. Create a subset function that takes variable A as input and cuts first character off, result is B variable
4. Put a text object below barcode and link variable B to it

Now when you will print, you will be prompted for variable A value, enter P1234 and print. Barcode will have value P1234 and Text object below barcode will have a value of 1234

Hope this helps 8)

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:27 pm
by lpatty
Easier method.

From the data, it looks like you are trying to create an AIAG label. NiceLabel Pro has a data source available called ASC(FACT). This allows you to use a single variable, lets say PartNumber for your barcode and human readable, but only add the P in the barcode.

Look in the NiceLabel samples that install with the software for a label called 'AIAG B-10.lbl' for an example.