Rester Counter on each new line in Excel

Issues related to label design (working with databases, data processing, RFID encoding etc.) and printing (from NiceLabel Express, NiceLabel Pro, NiceForm and NicePrint)

Moderators: Georges, milos, NiceLabel Support Team

Post Reply
Mario2706
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:15 pm

Rester Counter on each new line in Excel

Post by Mario2706 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 2:23 pm

Hello,

I'm quite new to Nicelabel.
i hope someone can help me with this.

I have an excel wich i use as database. In one column is says how many of each labels we want.
For example:

CustomerA 3
CustomerB 2

I want to add a counter on each label wich says Box 1 of 3, Box 2 of 3, Box 3 of 3
So my labels would look like:
CustomerA Box 1 of 3
CustomerA Box 2 of 3
CustomerA Box 3 of 3
CustomerB Box 1 of 2
CustomerB Box 2 of 2

Is this possible? We have nicelabel standard.

User avatar
Saso
NiceLabel
NiceLabel
Posts: 2984
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:09 am
Contact:

Re: Rester Counter on each new line in Excel

Post by Saso » Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:06 pm

Yes, this can be done, but you need NiceLabel Designer Pro.

You would define a counter variable.
The counter will reset its value when the customer name changes. Basically, the counter is restarted for each new record.

The second part, "of 3" you already got, this is the Qty field in your Excel.

The options for the "counter rollover" are not available in NiceLabel Designer Standard.
counter rollover.jpg
counter rollover.jpg (55.36 KiB) Viewed 3043 times
Saso Fleiser
Senior Technical Product Specialist

Dennis Ehmig
Addict
Addict
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2014 2:10 pm

Re: Rester Counter on each new line in Excel

Post by Dennis Ehmig » Wed Oct 01, 2014 3:10 pm

Hi,

I am afraid that this is not possible with NiceLabel Standard, because you do not have access to variables.
With Designer Pro on the other hand this is easily doable thanks to the internal variables:
print amount.PNG
print amount.PNG (16.32 KiB) Viewed 3043 times
You can just place those on the label where they are needed and will see the correct amount.

Edit:
Nevermind, this does not work when used with a database connection, but Saso already provided a working alternative. :oops:

Post Reply